The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Knife Crime & Violence Reduction is a group of over 70  MPs and Peers, set up in response to the alarming rise in knife crime across the country. The group aims to develop cross-party consensus from parliamentarians around new approaches to tackling knife crime, with particular focus on prevention and early intervention.

Official purpose of the APPG:

The APPG seeks to evaluate policies and programmes aimed at reducing knife crime, gain better understanding of its root causes and the wider context of serious violence. The group aims to develop recommendations for new measures at both acute and preventative stages with a view to reducing levels of knife crime, and work with the cross-party Youth Violence Commission.


Florence Eshalomi MP

Florence has been Labour MP for Vauxhall since 2019.

Taiwo Owatemi MP

Taiwo became the Labour MP for Coventry North West in December 2019


Sarah Jones was elected as the Labour Member of Parliament for Croydon Central in June 2017. After spending her first summer as MP talking to local organisations, campaigners and young people about the surge in youth violence and knife crime, Sarah held a debate in Parliament on the topic, and set up the APPG on Knife Crime shortly after. 


Vice-chair - Kate Osamor

Kate Osamor is the Labour MP for Edmonton and former Shadow International Development Secretary.



Vice-chair: Lord Paddick

Lord Paddick is the Liberal Democrat Home Affairs spokesperson in the House of Lords. He formerly served as Deputy Assistant Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police.


Huw Merriman MP  Vice Chair

Vice-chair: Huw Merriman MP

Huw Merriman is the Conservative MP for Bexhill and Battle and Chair of the Transport Select Committee.  He spent 5 years as trustee and volunteer in a youth charity in Brixton.



Vicky Foxcroft MP  Vice Chair

Vice-chair - Vicky Foxcroft MP

Vicky Foxcroft is the Labour MP for Lewisham Deptford and Chair of the Youth Violence Commission, which will be publishing its final recommendations in Spring 2020.  



Crispin Blunt MP

Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi MP

Marcus Fysh MP

Claudia Webbe MP

Felicity Buchan MP

Imran Khan MP

Helen Hayes MP

Fleur Anderson MP

Jason McCartney MP

Meg Hillier MP

Ruth Cadbury MP

Jo Gideon MP

Bell Rebeiro Addy MP

Ian Byrne MP


 The secretariat of the APPG on Knife Crime is supported jointly by Redthread and Barnardo’s:

Redthread is a youth work charity whose vision is a society in which all young people lead healthy, safe, and happy lives. Redthread’s mission is to empower young people to thrive as they navigate the challenging transition to adulthood by integrating trauma-informed youth work into the health sector.  The aim is to help young people to meet their full potential to live healthy, safe, and happy lives, and move away from cycles of violence and (re-)offending

Barnardo’s is the largest national children’s charity in the UK. For more than 150 years we have supported some of the most vulnerable children and young people across the country. We believe in children – no matter who they are, or what they’ve been through. We make sure their needs are met, and their voices are heard. 

Close Menu